HONOURS AND AWARDS COMMITTEE REPORT FOR THE JULY 2020 ONLINE BOARD MEETING

INTRODUCTION

The task for this committee was to help process the winners of the 2020 Kathrene Kendall Award and 2020 Eileen Younghusband Award. The committee followed the guidelines specified in the IASSW Manual of Procedures document and prepared the calls for applications for the two awards. These were then posted on the IASSW website very much on time and disseminated through other channels like the list serves of various regional associations of schools of social work. Board members were also reminded of the same through official emails by the IASSW Executive Secretary and encouraged to disseminate the call for nominations to their respective regions and networks. A detailed account of the procedure followed for both awards was presented in the January 2020 board meeting in Malaysia.

2020 EILENE YOUNGHUSBAND AWARD

Prof. Angeline Yuen from Hong Kong was unanimously approved as the winner for the 2020 Eilene Younghusband Award and has already received the congratulatory letter from the president, IASSW.

2020 KATHERENE KENDALL AWARD

For the 2020 Katherene Kendall Award, Prof. Leila Patel from South Africa emerged the winner and has already received the congratulatory letter from the president, IASSW.

The winner in both award categories were expected to give a commemorative lecture in the 2020 IASSW global conference slated for Ramini, Italy but were unable to do so following the cancellation of the conference due to Covid -19.

COMMITTEE REQUEST

The committee requests the board to consider and facilitate the two awardees for the 2020 Honours and Awards in both categories to give the respective lectures for each award in the next IASSW global conference.

CONCLUSION

I wish to thank the board and the Honours and Awards committee members with whom I worked with during my tenure as the chairman of this committee for their support in enabling this committee achieve its mandate. I also wish the new chair, Prof. Hatta and the committee members the very best in the work for this committee.

Respectfully submitted

Gidraph G. Wairire

Honours and Awards Committee